Views
Helpful
Replies

VSOM & LDAP Integration

aviyoshi10
Level 1
Level 1
Hi,
I would like to understand the full integration between the VSOM & Microsoft LDAP.
I read at the user guide that the vsom do not import groups & policies from the LDAP. so i need to enter manually at the vsom the users, groups & policies.
I understand that the integration is only with password authentication which is hold just at the ldap.
is that correct?
is there a roadmap for full integration ?
thanks,
6 Replies 6

ANDREW OSBORNE
Level 1
Level 1

Avi,

I was trying to figure this out myself last night and got it working (sort of).

Note: I'm not an LDAP expert or an AD expert so anyone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.  I would love to get this working better.

It appears how the authentication takes place is the media server performs a simple bind with the LDAP server using the username and password provided on the login page.  If the bind is successful then the user is authenticated.  I don't know if this is true or not but I ran across a post last night that said in AD you can only bind using the cn.  For AD that equates to "Andrew Osborne" in my case.  In VSOM you then have to set up the user account so that the user name matches exactly the cn in AD so my username in VSOM is "Andrew Osborne".

How I configured it to work was:

- From the Video Surveillance Management Console select "Operations Manager" on the left side.

- Change the Authentication Type from Application Database to LDAP Server.

- Put in the hostname of the LDAP server. (I just put the IP address of my AD server)

- Enter the host port.(I just put in 389)

- For the Relative Distinguished Name use something like "cn=%username%,OU=VSOM,OU=Users"

- cn=%username% <- uses the username from the loging page

- OU=VSOM,OU=Users <- this needs to change to the OU where your VSOM users are.

- Domain Controllers needs to be something like "DC=cisco,DC=com" to match your domain