cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Is switch SLM2008 DLNA certified ?

p_hickman
Level 1
Level 1

I have a VITESSE chipset GBe 8 port switch but for reasons unknown to me I cannot communicate to my DNLA apps thru this switch.  I have been using this switch for a couple of years with no issues I assume DLNA is layered on TCP so I am at a loss to understand why a switch would have any role in DNLA connectivity. If I use any combination of my other hubs/switches which are 100Mb it works fine and DLNA connectivity is good.

The quick fix would be to try a new GBe switch, but I cannot find any ref to DLNA certification, could I assume this unit will work before I buy one.

Thx.

4 Replies 4

David Hornstein
Level 7
Level 7

Hi P_hickman,

Alot of that functionality with DLNA on the local area network is done via IP multicast. It has been interesting that the only issues I have seen on switches was when IGMP snooping was enabled.  In very small networks, seems like DLNA needs to have multicasts flooding to DLNA aware devices.

I am guessing that the "VITESSE chipset GBe 8"  is a unmanaged switch, and that's why DLNA is working on your LAN.  is that correct ? (Unmanaged switches flood by default multicast packets to all ports.)

SLM , SRW or just about any managed switch i can think off would have a option to disable IGMP snooping to allow the flooding of the multicast packets. But is the low cost SLM2008 DLNA certified,  can't find it in the datasheet.  But I would be most keen to see a 1 minute wireshark capture on a DLNA network.

So I can check out specifics about your DLNA implementation on your network.

regards Dave

Hi, thx for the reply.  Your statement "I am guessing that the "VITESSE chipset GBe 8"  is a unmanaged switch, and that's why DLNA is working on your LAN.  is that correct ? (Unmanaged switches flood by default multicast packets to all ports.)" is wrong, this setup does NOT work,  but it is a GbE unmanaged switch.

Blackbox LGB2018A, pdf spec sheet attached.