Views
Helpful
Replies

Basic Voicemail setup with CUCM and Unity Connections

fieryhail
Level 1
Level 1

Hello again,

I am still very new to CUCM.  I am trying to setup a test deployment of CUCMB 6.01.  It has the integrated Unity Connections.  I have 2 DNs assigned to users and Cisco IP phones.  I'm using MGCP (Cisco 3745 with 2FXO as gateway).  Now I am trying to setup voicemail extensions for the users.  I've been reading lots of documentation on CUCM and Unity, but I know Unity Express isn't what I need and haven't found info on the very basics of setting up voicemail for CUCM users.

The Users are DN 1001 and 1002 respectively.  They are both part of a hunt list (broadcast) so that when incoming calls arrive, both phones will ring simultaneously.  Not sure if this has any bearing or not.  I'd like to be able to set it up so that each DN rings on the IP phone say 6 times then goes to a Unity voicemail box setup for that user.  I have already imported the 2 users into Unity.  I've run the voicemail port config wizard.  Everything appears as if it is going properly, but I'm stuck on the part of actually telling CUCM to forward the call to the Unity mailbox.  Probably the simplest part.  Any ideas or help on this would be very much appreciated.  Thank you all in advance.

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Rob Huffman
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Fiery,

CUCM will work this way

So, the fact that 1001 and 1002 are receiving the calls via a Hunt Group has a great bearing on this config.

You have to keep in mind that a call that has routed via the Hunt Pilot will always ignore the CFWD Settings on Hunt Group Member phones. The normal way to control this then is via the Hunt Group Logout of member phones combined with the Hunt Pilot level forward settings.

The following describes how the Call Forward settings on individual Hunt member phones are ignored when presented a call via the Hunt feature. Here is a clip;

Hunting and Call Forwarding