Views
Helpful
Replies

Router and L3 switch

mkoniuszko
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm pretty new in Cisco (still preparing for CCNA), so be understanding if question is obvious.

I just don't understand what is a difference betweet router with integrated L2 switch (for example 877) and Layer 3 switch ?

I cannot find it anywhere, and in video courses I've seen they just mention that L3 switches exist, that's it.

Regards,

Mariusz

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

mkoniuszko wrote:

Hello,

I'm pretty new in Cisco (still preparing for CCNA), so be understanding if question is obvious.

I just don't understand what is a difference betweet router with integrated L2 switch (for example 877) and Layer 3 switch ?

I cannot find it anywhere, and in video courses I've seen they just mention that L3 switches exist, that's it.

Regards,

Mariusz

Mariusz

A router does it's routing in software.

A L3 switch does most of it's routing in hardware.

This means that L3 switches outperform routers in forwarding of L3 packets.

So why does anybody buy a router ? Well routers are much more flexible devices than L3 switches eg.

1) Apart from the 6500 switch no other switch supports NAT

2) Routers support a much more rich set of QOS features so if you want WAN QOS routers are often the way to go

3) Routers support a far greater range of interface types

4) Routers support IPSEC/VPNs etc.

Note that the 6500 switch can do a lot of the above than other switches but you do pay for that.

Jon

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

mkoniuszko wrote:

Hello,

Regards,

Mariusz

Mariusz

A router does it's routing in software.

A L3 switch does most of it's routing in hardware.

This means that L3 switches outperform routers in forwarding of L3 packets.

So why does anybody buy a router ? Well routers are much more flexible devices than L3 switches eg.