Views
Helpful
Replies

How to configure AIR-AP1252AG-E-K9 on Cisco 4400 Wireless Lan Controller

jibuhebron
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

My name is Jibu Ninan Kurian i am new in Cisco Wireless Lan Controller now i have one cisco 4400 WLAN controlles with 50 AP license and 27 AIR-AP1252AG-EK9  AP with c1250-k9w7-tar.124-10b.JDA3 how i can configure this access point on my WLAN controller i need expert help to solve this problam 

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Jibu Ninan Kurian,

1.  For starters, I don't know what is the firmware of your WLC.  For 1250 to be supported, you need to use the firmware 4.2.207.0, 5.X or 6.X.  Frankly, I'd stay away from 5.X.
2.  To help you understand and configure your WLC, go through the Cisco Wireless LAN Controller Configuration Guide
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/controller/5.2/configuration/guide/Controller52CG.html

Hope this helps and please don't forget to rate this post if it's helpful and/or applicable.

View solution in original post

Hi Jibu Ninan Kurian,

When you're dealing with WLC/LWAP the LWAPs firmware will be managed and distributed by the WLC.

For your AP to join the WLC, it must be running on an LWAP image.  The IOS "c1250-k9w7-tar.124-10b.JDA3" does NOT seem like a valid LWAP image.  You will need to upgrade the IOS from Autonomous to LWAP.  Here's the link:

Upgrading Autonomous Cisco Aironet Access Points to Lightweight Mode
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/wireless/access_point/conversion/lwapp/upgrade/guide/lwapnote.html

Does this help?

Hi Jibu Ninan Kurian,

Doesn't make a difference because once the LWAP joins the WLC, the WLC will distribute the full LWAP IOS to the APs.

9 Replies 9

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Jibu Ninan Kurian,

1.  For starters, I don't know what is the firmware of your WLC.  For 1250 to be supported, you need to use the firmware 4.2.207.0, 5.X or 6.X.  Frankly, I'd stay away from 5.X.