cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Update cisco switch

Paul_Rydings
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to cisco but have to update a coupe of switches which arew catalyst3560 SERIES PoE-24 currently running IOS software release 12.2(35)SE5, what tar file do I want to download and install? and will it require a reboot?

Thank you

8 Replies 8

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

First, the easy bit.  Yes it will require a reboot.  If you do a "sh version" what feature set does it say?  IP Services, IP Base, etc.?  Download the same one.

You have two methods of upgrading the IOS:

1.  GUI or Cisco Network Assistant; and
2.  CLI

When deciding what version you should use, go through the Release Notes of the particular version to determine if you will be hitting some of the bugs identified.  The Release Notes will also contain steps in upgrading the IOS using either one of the two methods I've mentioned.  Look for the section called "Upgrading a Switch by Using the Device Manager or Network Assistant" or "Upgrading a Switch by Using the CLI".

For example: 
Upgrading a Switch by Using the Device Manager or Network Assistant
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3750/software/release/12.2_53_se/release/notes/OL21141.html#wp909639

Upgrading a Switch by Using the CLI
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3750/software/release/12.2_53_se/release/notes/OL21141.html#wp559616

Paul_Rydings
Level 1
Level 1

sorry I was doing it form the cisco network assistant not command line and believe I needed a tar file?

burleyman
Level 8
Level 8

It depends on a few things. What is the exact model? Post the whole WS-......number. Also you will need to know how much memory. Next you will need to know what services you require. And you will also need a Cisco ID to access the downloads.

Based on what little I know the newest release is 12.2.53-SE

Post more information if you can.

Mike