Views
Helpful
Replies

Starting Point

nyseanjohn
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I really want to get into Cisco networking, but I dont know where to start at, I have no experience in switching or routing or any of that stuff. I wanted to know if there was a book or books that could teach me everything all the way down to the terminology and what all the acronyms stand for and the definition of those words are too, I want to start from the very beggining starting with what certain networking terms mean, I am in no rush Im only 21 and I plan on taking the CCENT exam one day and moving up from there.

If there is anyone that can help me that would be greatly appreciated

Thank You

10 Replies 10

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Sean,

One book that I can recommend to you to start with is a book by Radia Perlman.

The name of the book is "Interconnections (Second Edition)"

It starts from the very basics and gives you a very good foundation.  You will also learn about routing and switching and how routing protocols work.

Good Luck

Reza

I researched that book on amazon and it has alot of very good reviews, but it was published in 1999, so wouldnt that be too outdated or does that matter since the terminology and the functions of the different parts of networking dont change.

If you just want to learn the concepts, that book is good, but if you want to also pass the exams, then I would look for the latest books since they change the exams every few years.

HTH

Reza

So basically that book will tell me the terminology of the networking words so I wont be completely lost when I read the books for the exam because I wont know what they mean.

Also would you recommend the book called Networking for Dummies lol seeing that I am sorta ignorant when it comes to this subject

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

nyseanjohn wrote:

Hi,