cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to obtain cryptographic software images for WS-2960-48-TC-L?

murray-davis
Level 1
Level 1

Is it possible to get the cryptographic software image for a Cisco catalyst switch in the 2960 series? I would like to logon to these switches using SSH instead of Telnet. I searched on the Cisco software site for "crytpographic software image", but my search results didn't find a link to the image. If I search the download tree for a 2960, the only images available are the LANBASE images w/o crytpography.

I am a resident of Canada, so I know Canadian residents are eligible to receive crytpo images.

If the images are available, where can I find them? As well, are they free or does one have to purchase the crypto image files?

Thank you,

4 Replies 4

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I thought you could get them if you have a CCO account and the switch was registered as I think they have free lifetime upgrades and warranties.  Otherwise contact cisco and find out.  This is what you should be looking for once you get access " c2960-lanbasek9-mz.122-52.SE.bin"  .

Right from the main product description page.

• Limited Lifetime Hardware Warranty
  • Software updates at no additional charge
  • Reza Sharifi
    Hall of Fame
    Hall of Fame

Hello Murray,

For the 2960s, all the images are LAN Base and this image will provide SSH for you.  The latest is 122-52.(see below)

and yes, both U.S and Canada are eligible to receive crytpo images.

I think, once you pay for the license the first time , you can download any of the images, since they are all LAN Base, but you may want to double check with your Cisco Rep.

LAN BASE
    c2960-lanbasek9-mz.122-52.SE.bin
    Release Date: 01/Oct/2009
    Size: 8272.61 KB  (8471143 bytes)
    Minimum Memory: DRAM:64 MB  Flash:32 MB

HTH

Reza

Leo Laohoo
    Hall of Fame
    Hall of Fame

Hi Murray,