Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Why MGX?

Hi friends,

I have been working with MGX for the last two to three months. but still i cant be clear about why do we require MGX? Are there any special features in those switches which other equipments do not support? What I mean is, the MGX are very costly, i could not justify the cost-benifit factor. Could anyone help me out.

regards,

Rajiv

2 Replies 2

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Rajiv,

it all depends from what you want to do.

Are you doing this for job or for learning?

If your company wants to build an ATM network or better has an ATM network of some size it may involve MGX or the bigger BPX or similar devices from other vendors.

ATM is quite complex, for example the use of PNNI routing protocol to route SVCs on demand can be interesting but requires care in implementation.

If you are doing this for your own learning there can be other devices that can be used, that can be cheaper

Other considerations follow.

Twelve years ago ATM had been seen as the technology for core of networks. There was even ATM to the desktop I tested ATM 25 Mbps NICs on PCs for example, now none thinks of using this.

ATM has suffered the following facts:

the fast and cheap advancements in ethernet technologies

the POS tecnnology that allowed to use SDH/SONET without involving ATM

the advent of MPLS that is a virtualized and simplified ATM.

So now ATM is confined on specific niches in service provider networks but it is not in the inner core.

A 2,5 Gbps ATM interface if exists is much more expensive then a 2,5 POS interface.

But from a technical point of view ATM is still better then MPLS Traffic engineering.

Also scalability can be an issue: there are limits in how big can be an ATM network routed by PNNI and this has lead to the need of using multiple domains.

Hope to help

Giuseppe

marikakis
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Rajiv,