Cisco SA540 - Classical Routing Problem - 0.0.0.0 in static Route

Answered Question
Jan 8th, 2010

Hello, I'm a little newbie with Routing Device,

I had several Public IP

I had a Cisco Pix 501and want to replace it by a Cisco SA540

my Wan IP on Pix 501 is 195.68.x.z
my Lan IP on Pix 501 is 62.23.a.b (and 62.23.a.c ,...)

My Pix 501 Translation rules is : inside interface|inside:any:0.0.0.0|outside interface| same as orginal address
My Pix 501 Static route : outside |Ip address 0.0.0.0|Netmask 0.0.0.0|Gateway IP 195.168.x.y|Metric 1

So when a computer with 62.23.a.X want to acces to internet the static route tell it to throuw the Gateway IP 195.168.x.y (as I undestand)

I have to replicate this config to my SA540

So via the Web GUI, I configure the Wan and Lan IP
, then in routing menu I check "Classical Routing" then I go to Static Menu in order to add the same route as in my Pix 501, but I can't put 0.0.0.0 in iP address nor in IP Subnet Mask.

Can anyone help me ?

Thanks a lot.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by alissitz about 6 years 11 months ago

Well ... now that this is performing classical routing, basically you need to add whatever routes are needed for connectivity.  ;-)

Any internal networks will have to be route'able and you will also need a default route pointing to the uplink / service provider.

Does this make sense?  If you find this getting a little 'fuzzy', feel free to post follow up questions here or call a support rep via the link I pasted earlier in this post.

HTH,

Andrew

Correct Answer by alissitz about 6 years 11 months ago

Hello,

I hope this finds you doing well.  Just figured I would add a few minor things here ...

You probably saw this, however ... here is the link to the SA500 page:

https://www.myciscocommunity.com/docs/DOC-10526

Yes, when you configure the device as a router, then you have to configure all the routing.  You might try to remove the routes and readd them.