cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple Versions of CCM and CUCM integrating with AD

ITDude1128
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I talked to Jaime (Cisco tech) about integrating our multiple versions of CCM and CUCM with AD and he mentioned that since we have multiple versions there would be 2 different solutions.  One was the AD integration connector for CCM versions 4.1 and 4.3 and then the LDAP Server connection for our CUCM versions 6.1 and 7.1.  Both options viable options and workable.

I was asked to see if there was any possible way to have one solution work with our multiple versions and someone mentioned using an API called AXL.  They state that you can do custom programming of the API so that we can add and delete users in AD and have those changes reflected in CCM and CUCM using this API.  Is anyone familiar with this API and doing something similar with it?  I am not a programmer so I am not sure if this is a viable option or a wise option.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

8 Replies 8

htluo
Level 9
Level 9

CCM (Windows-based) and CUCM (Linux-based) have different different approaches on AD integration.

For CCM (Windows), CallManager creates a container (folder) in the AD and stores its configuration in it.

For CUCM (Linux), CalManager performs read-only action.

Those two methods are not interchangable.  So "Both options viable options and workable" is not quite accurate.

What do you mean by "have one solution work with our multiple versions"?

Thanks!

Michael

http://htluo.blogspot.com

The desire was to have one solution that would work with the CM versions and the CUCM versions but reading what you say it sounds like that wouldn't be possible.  So does this mean that tapping into the AXL API is not a good idea to accomplish this?

It depends on what you trying to achieve.  The word "solution" is kind of vague.

If you just want to have AD users imported into CCM/CUCM, I don't see any disavantages of different "solutions".