Views
Helpful
Replies

Intermittent faxing failures

Googi1974
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

We have approx 15 or so fax machines connected to a VG-248>call manager>(mgcp)gateway>pstn.

A group of users with high visibility within our organization has been sending complaints that a high number of outbound fax transmissions fail to various international numbers. I have monitored several of these “failed” attempts and notice that when the destination number answers the call, our end does not proceed to transmit. (almost as if that “handshake” is taking place). Though intermittent, I have been asked to confirm that our “setup” is configured optimally for faxing internationally and that we are configured to "recognize the different kinds of tones" (if that makes any sense). I am looking to the forum for any help about where to even begin this type of troubleshooting. This is a tall order for me, as I am not a voice expert and not even quite sure where to begin looking …the gateway config? VG248 config? The fax machines themselves? Is there any trace of these calls I can gather that will detail what is (or isn’t happening)? I’m grateful for any help you can offer.

Many thanks,

Kelly

1 Reply 1

silversnc
Level 1
Level 1

Ahh the bane of my existence with VoIP... Faxing solutions...

So with about 5 VG224's on our campus I have encountered numerous issues with faxes.. as of late I have been able to narrow it down quite a bit but I don't fully have a definite answer..

In my experience with the delay in handshake and then a dropped call these steps have helped...

1. There are a few settings you can check on your faxes....

If you can lower the speed on your fax it tends to help drop it down to 9600 bps and turn of ECM or Error Correction Mode.

ECM is implemented on the Gateway already and tends to interfere with the faxing and how the gateway interprets the analog signal if you do it on the fax as well..