Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Linkysys RV042 QuickVPN to router issues

Hi

Any help with this issue is greatly appreciated as I have been stuck on this for acouple of days now, this is my first time posting to a forum... I have setup VPN connections before but only through packages such as openswan & openvpn not through such a device.

My VPN router is connected directly to an ADSL modem, directly behind the RV042 I have placed my test machine on port 1 both Wan1 & port 1 show as Gree (active).

Modem...
DHCP enabled

local IP: 10.1.1.1

The VPN has...

Wan1: 10.1.1.2

Lan1: 10.222.43.1

Test machine...

IP address: 10.222.43.100

I have been given two Linksys RV042 devices to setup as VPN end point/connections from one LAN to another.

However before I do this I have been testing the setup of a test machine (Laptop Windows 7 professional & also tried XP professional with exactly the same results) to the VPN router device.I have configured the router with the basic setup as described in the step-by-step guide / pdf and setup a test user & one tunnel I have left every thing as default and only changed what is necessary.

I have generated a certificate for the server and distributed a client certificate to my client machine and installed in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Linksys\Linksys VPN Client\" directory (as I understand I can simply download to this location and its installed for the client).

The above is a run down of the steps listed in the setup guide provided on the CD, every time I try to connect to the server I get the following error message.

Failed to establish a connection.

This could be caused by one of the following:

1. Incorrect password.

2. No valid IP for the network card.

3. Incorrect server address.

4. You may need to disable your Windows firewall.

5. Local IP address conflicts with the subnet of remote VPN server.

1. I know my password is correct