Cisco 7600 Series Ethernet Services cards types & queue values

Unanswered Question
Jan 26th, 2010
User Badges:


There is different types for the Cisco 7600 Series Ethernet Services cards.
( More expensive cards with high queue values and less expensive cards with
low queue values.)
Hardware queues
ES Plus XT 40G line cards
• 128,000 ingress queues
• 256,000 egress queues
ES Plus XT 20G line cards
*• 64,000 ingress queues*
• 128,000 egress queues
Hierarchical QoS (H-QoS)
Hardware queues
Cisco 7600 Series ES Plus Transport 40G and 20G Line Cards
*Supporting up to 16 level 4 queues per physical port*
Hierarchical QoS (H-QoS)

Low queue cards have got only 4 queues per physical port. High queue cards
have got minimum 64.000 queue. This is very huge difference.  In what kind
of scenario do we have to use the High queue cards ? Could you give some
examples please ?  Kind Regards.


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Sergei Vasilenko Mon, 02/01/2010 - 21:21
User Badges:
  • Cisco Employee,

Hello Burak,

The example could be Distributed Subscriber Management -
Intelligent Services Gateway (ISG) QoS close to the edge with ES+ placed as Subscriber facing card.
This allowes Traffics differentiation on per service per subscriber base.
Dynamic MQC policy assignment per subscriber with QoS scale – like multiple queues per subscribers,
Business and residential QoS coexistence.
ISG QoS applies per session MQC policy upon session establishment (MQC policies are pre-defined locally on the router).
ISG IP and PPPoE Sessions are dynamically created and use QoS resources when active.
Also each type of service can use different QoS models with respect to classification, marking, scheduling and policing
Different policy maps can be applied on each service instance independently (EVC, sub-interface, ISG session).

Some CCO links:

ISG: Subscriber Aware Ethernet

IP Subscriber Awareness over Ethernet



This Discussion