cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Understanding dial peers

wilson_1234_2
Level 3
Level 3

I am new to voice and trying to visualize how inbound dial peers are matched with outbound dial peers and need some verification.

I have read the cisco documents on dial peers and still need some clarification.

We have a CUBE route receiving SIP calls and my questions are pertaining to this type of configuration:

In our CUBE router, there is only a single pots dial peer and this was configured for testing FAX, all other dial-peers are voip.

The order in which the dial peers are configured is important in that the first dial peer matched top down is the one used, correct?

Do all SIP calls destined for our Call Manager have to match one of the voip dial peers, or is an inbound dial peer not neccesarily needed?

Inbound dial-peers can be matched by calls that are sourced from the Telco or our internal network (call manager), correct (any call inbound to the router)?

Is the "called number" always considered "inbound" either from the telco, or our internal network (call manager)?

And "calling number" can be sourced from either telco or internal network?

Below is an example of a dial peer configured in our CUBE, not the test FAX I mentioned earlier, this is for Xmedius:

dial-peer voice 1 voip

description Test FAX dial peer

incoming called-number 1234567890

dtmf-relay rtp-nte digit-drop

codec g711ulaw

no vad

This dial peer meets the requirements of being valid (incoming called-number), but I don't see where the incoming called number goes from here, shouldn't it go to a session target of the Xmedius server?

9 Replies 9

brianmahler
Level 1
Level 1

You got a lot of questions.  So lets break it down a bit.

"Calling Number"  is the ANI  or the number of the person placing the call (doing the calling)

"Called Number" is the DNIS or the number of the person your are trying to reach. (the person being called)