cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to connect the ASA5505 behind ISP Netgear DG834 ADSL Router with Dynamic IP address

krishnan_hp
Level 1
Level 1

I am a beginner to ASA. I am trying to connect the ASA 5505 behind the netgear ADSL router which is getting dynamic IP address from the ISP. How to configure the ASA5505 outside interface for SSL VPN connectivity?

Could anyone help me on this? Your help is highy appreciated.

Thanks and regards,

Kris

8 Replies 8

Kureli Sankar
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Kris,

If you google "asa5505 ssl vpn configuration" you will find this link as the first hit.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa80/getting_started/asa5505/quick/guide/web_vpn.html#wp1059134

I hope it helps you.

-KS

Hi KS,

Thanks for your reply. But my question is not on SSL VPN configuration. I am not able to assign the IP address or getting the IP address on outside interface of ASA. Because in front of ASA 5505 , the netgear Nated ADSL firewall router is sitting and facing the ISP. From ISP Netgear router is getting the dynamic IP address through PPPoE. My question is what should I do on ASA for the PPPoE config and Netgear router to get an dynamic IP on ASA outside interface?

My ASA config is as follows:

int vlan2

pppoe client vpdn group pppoe_group

ip address pppoe setroute

In global confg mode:

vpdn group pppoe_group request dialout pppoe

vpdn group pppoe_group local name username@isp.com.au

vpdn group pppoe_group ppp authentication chap

vpdn username username@isp.com.au password *********

Thanks in advance

kris

Sorry didn't read your question right. Did your ISP ask you to use chap?

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa80/command/reference/uz.html#wp1570439

F1(config)# vpdn group telecommuters request dialout pppoe
F1(config)# vpdn group telecommuters localname user1
F1(config)# vpdn group telecommuters ppp authentication pap