cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CEF help please

burleyman
Level 8
Level 8

In studying for my CCNP BCMSN I started reading more on CEF. While I had a overview understanding of this I am now looking more in depth for my exam....Now to my question. I ran the show ip cef switching statistics command to just check what it looked like on our core switch and I found some things I have questions on so I am hoping someone can help as I may have an issue....or not. I ran the command back to back 3 times and I see the counters on Punts, Drops, and Punt2Host are incrementing, is this something that could be normal or is it something I should look further into? Attached is the output.

Also can someone explain what each of these are just so I am clear...I think I know but I am not an expert.

RP LES Packet destined for us

RP LES No adjacency

RP LES TTL expired

RP LES IP redirects 

RP LES Unclassified reason

RP LES Neighbor resolution req

Thanks for your help,

Mike

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Mike,

RP = route processor, LES I don't know however these are packet categories that are not processed by CEF but punted to main cpu

let's go on:

Packet destined for us: a packet for a RP ip address for example a routing protocol message or an STP BPDU or a CDP or VTP message

No adjacency: the CEF entry is not present or totally built so the packet is sent to the RP for example in order to perform an ARP request for a PC in a connected vlan.

TTL expired: sent to RP in order to build an ICMP unreachable to sent to source of expired packet

IP redirects: again an ICMP message that has to be processed by RP in order to modify a CEF entry because a better next-hop exists for the destination

Neigh  resol request:  a request for an ARP request to resolve a next-hop address typically of another networking device, probably used as next-hop in a static route

unclassified: all other possible reasons

Hope to help

Giuseppe