cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can't access printers over WAP4410

stevensutton
Level 1
Level 1

I just installed a WAP4410 in my wife's office. The WAP4410 is plugged into the network switch. The switch links two printers, a Windows XP machine, an iMac, two printers and a file server. From the wireless computer (an iMac running OS 10.5) I am able to access the Internet and the file server. I cannot access either of the printers. The first time I tried printing to one of the printers the Mac OS told me I didn't have AppleTalk installed. I shutdown AppleTalk on the Ethernet connection and turned it on on the Wireless connection. Still no go with the printer. Does anyone have any input on this issue? I would be happy to hear that you can access networked printer over a wireless access point or that it was breeze on someone's Windows machine. I have never used a device like this before so this is all new to me. And if anyone can actually tell me what I need to do to get her printers working over the wireless connection... Well let's just say I would be eternally grateful. :-)  Thanks to all.

3 Replies 3

alissitz
Level 4
Level 4

Hello,

A couple of thoughts ...

- is there a firewall running on the computer that trusts the wired network but not the wifi?

- can you ping the printers from the wireless network?

- have you checked with the printer manufacturer?

- are the printers also on the wireless or are they plugged into the switch?

There should not be any problems accessing a printer while connected via wireless.  I have a WAP4400 and do not have any issues.

Kindest regards,

Andrew Lissitz