Cisco ASA 5505 peculiarities

Unanswered Question
Feb 19th, 2010

I am just starting out using a Cisco ASA 5505 device, but have to say that I have encountered some peculiarities with the software.

To start, when I try to connect to the device from my Microsoft Windows XP service pack 3 machine via the Cisco ASDM Launcher that it tries to connect and then fails with the typical error message saying to check the configuration or connection.

After playing around with the settings on the GUI I discovered that clearing the internal log buffer would then enable the Launcher to connect to the device without a hitch.  Apparently garbage in the internal log buffer is interfering with connecting?

Next I found that not only me, but other users were having problems using the ASA5505 with a static IP modem.  Initially I thought it was just me, but then did the Google search to discover that about a dozen other people had the same identical problem.  I didn't feel so bad then.  After some reading of other tips and information, after exhausting the Cisco documents dry, I did find one person who said to set the NAT table.

That almost fixed the problem.  Things started working after I opened up the outside interface net mask.  (and strangely enough kept working after I narrowed back down from to

Things were cruising along, until I saw a computer on the other side of my company's gateway try to connect to one in the LAN.  This forced me to create an access rule (or so I thought) and immediately all the local computers lost connectivity with the DNSs and thus with the internet.

Strangely enough, while looking at the log file, I did see that the packets were being dropped due to an access list violation, but which access list??  I didn't create any, so I thought, and chasing down the access lists led to nothing.