cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1721 Router Need quick help please

iLLuSi0nS
Level 1
Level 1

Howdy. I am very new to the wonderful (but advanced) Cisco world. My 1721 router was configured a long time ago and has been working perfectly for many years, but a few days ago we changed our ISPs and now I need to enter in new IP information for my new ISP and have no idea where to start.

I have the console cable hooked up to the back of the router in the console port, going to my laptop with windows XP.

I am guessing I start hyper terminal, but have no idea what to do next. Can anyone help me step my step on what to do. I have been reading and reading, but get lost as soon as the manual tells me to put router > enable.

I am sure to some of you, you have memorized the few commands it will take to change the wan infomartion and if you can share it that would be amazing, and if I have to pay for some info, I dont mind that either, just hoping someone can take mercy on me and help me, my business is dieing with no internet. Thanks a lot

4 Replies 4

pompeychimes
Level 4
Level 4

Start Hyper Terminal

You'll be prompted to name a new connection. Name it anything you want.

In the next window drop down the "Connect Using" box and select the com port that is connected from your PC to the Router.

In the next window match these settings...

Bits per second: 9600

Data bits: 8

Parity: None

Stop bits: 1

Flow Control: Hardware

Hit enter till you get some output on the screen. What happens next depends on how the Router is configured. If prompted, enter your credentials (Hopefully u know them). If it takes you straight to this prompt Router> type enable and hit enter. you'll either go straight to this prompt Router# or you'll be prompted for credentials.

Once you get to the enable prompt Router# enter the sh run command. Post the output here. Be sure to remove passwords, public IP addresses, and any other sensitive data before posting.

James