Views
Helpful
Replies

Pix501 nat config question

kennis1977
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

Im new in the pix world,now i just bought a pix501 firewall.. great thing..however..

I don't get a connection with nat to work...

I have the next situation..

outside address=192.168.1.254 /24 gateway address=192.168.1.1

inside address-172.16.250.253/24

Now i use the setup wizard to configure the pix... i want to add a dynamic nat role first

but i read somewhere on the internet that the pix is doing nat already by default from the inside

addresses to the outside adapter.

if this is true.. why can't i get any connection the the internet? i can also not ping 192.168.1.1

by the access roles everything is still default,so permit any any..

Can somebody give me a hint?

Thanks

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

kennis1977 wrote:

Hi Guys,

Im new in the pix world,now i just bought a pix501 firewall.. great thing..however..

Now i use the setup wizard to configure the pix... i want to add a dynamic nat role first

but i read somewhere on the internet that the pix is doing nat already by default from the inside

if this is true.. why can't i get any connection the the internet? i can also not ping 192.168.1.1

Thanks

Pix by default will allow traffic from the inside to the outside but it won't automatically do not NAT. You need to add this -

nat (inside) 1 172.16.250.0 255.255.255.0

global (outside) 1 interface

this will nat all source addresses of 172.16.250.x to the outside interface address ie. 192.168.1.254.

Couple of additional things -

1) you will need to allow ICMP ie. ping back in on the outside interface because ICMP is not stateful

2) 192.168.1.254 is still not an internet routable address but i'm assuming either

i) you have changed the IP address for this post

or

ii) your traffic is Natted again somewhere upstream

Jon

View solution in original post

Jon had given you the following: