cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with setting up 2 x 5520 Firewall & 2 x 2960G Switches

derek.bannard
Level 1
Level 1

I'm looking to do the following... but am lost with all the options and variable.

Hopefully one of the guru's here can help with a sample config I can expand upon.

P.S.  I'm new to Cisco IOS so please be gentle.

I have two firewalls set to active/standby using the management port for failover communication.  Works great.

I have two switches that I need to do something similar, but am unsure how to do it.

diagram.gif

Can you please provide a configuration that would work for what I am looking for in the diagram above?

Thank you very much in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

derek.bannard wrote:

Sorry, guess I should have clarified.

I have the firewalls setup so they failover and the vlnas are seperated on them.  I however do not have any configuration on the switches... and thus my dilema.  I don't know how to setup the switches.

Ahh okay.

As an example - vlan 10 = outside, vlan 11 = DMZ, vlan 12 = inside

The 2 switches will interconnect via an etherchannel trunk

2960 switch

=========

create vlans on switch -

vtp mode transparent

vlan 10

name outside

vlan 11

name dmz

vlan 12

name inside

create L2 etherchannel trunk -

int po1 <-- this interface will be automatically created when you configure gi0/1 and gi0/2

switchport mode trunk

switchport trunk allowed vlan 10,11,12

int gi0/1

switchport mode trunk

channel-group 1 mode on

int gi0/2

switchport mode trunk

channel-group 1 mode on

then choose ports for the outside/dmz/inside vlans

int gi0/4

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 10

int gi0/5

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 11

etc..

Edit - you would still want to set a hostname and secure access to the switches. Attached is a link to the config guide for the 2960 switch -

2960 configuration guide

Jon

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Ganesh Hariharan
VIP Alumni