cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS and VPN

matthew-ramsey
Level 1
Level 1

Okay so I'm new to this wonderful world of MPLS. I have just set up my first remote site and and the head end. All of the traffic on the internal networks the 172.27.1.0/24 172.27.27.2.0/24 work fine and talk. I have a Pix ASA 5510 which has a VPN to a remote netwokr let's say 192.168.1.0/24. I want the traffic from my remote MPLS network 172.27.30.0/24 to be able to talk with this network also. Is there any big magic I need to perform? I have a route to the network in my local switch. Ihave allowed the .30 network to talk to the 192.168.0.0/24 network via the VPN configuration. Still no Joy.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Matthew

So you have a WAN router at HQ that connects to the MPLS network and also at HQ you have a firewall that connects via VPN to a remote network ?

If so and you want your remote MPLS site to be able to communicate via VPN to the remote network then this has nothing to do with MPLS as such.

Have you added the remote site network to your VPN crypto map acl ?

Have you allowed the remote site traffic to use the VPN ?

Same question about NAT on the firewall ?

Jon

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Matthew

So you have a WAN router at HQ that connects to the MPLS network and also at HQ you have a firewall that connects via VPN to a remote network ?

If so and you want your remote MPLS site to be able to communicate via VPN to the remote network then this has nothing to do with MPLS as such.

Have you added the remote site network to your VPN crypto map acl ?

Have you allowed the remote site traffic to use the VPN ?

Same question about NAT on the firewall ?

Jon