cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Software Switching vs Hardware Switching.

nelson.garcia
Level 1
Level 1

So I'm learning about MLS and how it uses ASICs and Layer 3 engines for route processing and Layer 2 rewrite operations at ridiculous speeds using hardware switching. My question, which may be silly, is what is software switching? I never thought about switching in terms of hardware or software before I started learning about CEF-MLS.

15 Replies 15

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Nelson,

For the majority of packets, the Integrated Switching Engine performs the packet forwarding function in hardware. These packets are hardware-switched at very high rates. Exception packets are forwarded by the CPU subsystem software. Statistic reports should show that the Integrated Switching Engine is forwarding the vast majority of packets in hardware. Software forwarding is significantly slower than hardware forwarding, but packets forwarded by the CPU subsystem do not reduce hardware forwarding speed.

Have a look at this document:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst4500/12.2/31sga/configuration/guide/cef.html#wp1142909

HTH

Reza

Nelson:

There is a lot to be said about this and a lot of resources on the Internet that you can use to educate yourself on this.

In a few words, routing is traditionally done in software, which means that the packet that needs to be forwarded is sent to the routing engine, which includes the CPU, its memory buffers, the route table and the ARP table for L2 rewrite information. All the necessary lookups require CPU interrupts - in other words, CPU attention and resources.