AP5122 DC 12V powering option

Unanswered Question
Mar 21st, 2010

Hi,

This is my first time to work on cisco wireless and I need urgent help.

I am trying to power up an AP1522 using the 4th option of DC 12Volts option.

I have a 12 volts power supply but the current rating is stating 7amps peak current and normal 6amp current.

The cisco requirements at the back of the AP 5122 unit states 12V 6.7amps

One of my question is...

1 - Is the Power supply with its rating enough to power the Cisco AP?    the power supply wesite is = http://www.gme.net.au/products/accessories/accessories-power-supplies-240v-ac-to-13.8v-dc/PSA126

2 - If Iam using a direct power source and if Iam also earthing the cable, would I still need the Lightning arrestor to protecting the network cable?

I thought lightning arrestors are for PoE only

3 - Cisco is saying for the network cable, it must be cat5e or better, can I still use cat6?

thanks

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Scott Fella Fri, 03/26/2010 - 05:48

Pius,

Hopefully I can answer your question.... I have seen the post, but the Title confused me.... AP5122, should be AP1522:)

1 - Is the Power supply with its rating enough to power the Cisco AP?    the power supply wesite is = http://www.gme.net.au/products/accessories/accessories-power-supplies-240v-ac-to-13.8v-dc/PSA126

This PS should work since it is rated at 6amp - 7amp peak

2 - If Iam using a direct power source and if Iam also earthing the cable, would I still need the Lightning arrestor to protecting the network cable?

I thought lightning arrestors are for PoE only

Lightning arrestors are always a good idea especially if using copper... fiber will melt:)  It's a good idea!

3 - Cisco is saying for the network cable, it must be cat5e or better, can I still use cat6?

The higher the number the better... cat5 -> cat5e -> cat6 -> cat7

Pius Nolih Fri, 03/26/2010 - 19:36

Scott,

Thank you so much...