Regarding Configuration revision number in switch

Answered Question
Mar 21st, 2010
User Badges:

Hi Experts


  There are two switch one is in vtp server mode & another is in Vtp client mode , both are connected via cross-over cable.

  If there are 10 vlans created on server switch, configuration revision number is 10 & are propageted to client switch.

  If we delete 2 vlans at the same time what will be the confiuration revision number.

  Would it be 11 or 12



   Thanks in advance.


Regards Suryakant.

Correct Answer by Giuseppe Larosa about 7 years 2 months ago

Hello Suryakant,

by two because a first VTP update is created when you delete first vlan.

A second VTP update is built and sent when you delete the second one.


This is easy to test in a lab environment.


regular VTP updates are sent every 300 seconds but a change triggers the server to send a VTP update


no packaging capabilities as far as I have seen up to now (may be in VTP version 3 Cisco might have introduced something but not in VTP vers.1,2)


Hope to help

Giuseppe

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Loading.
pompeychimes Sun, 03/21/2010 - 23:48
User Badges:
  • Bronze, 100 points or more

Depends. Describe how you plan to delete these two vlans at the same time.

suryakant.chavan Mon, 03/22/2010 - 00:49
User Badges:

At the same time , that means one by one but immediately . I just want to know , whether switch will update configuration revision number by one or two.

Correct Answer
Giuseppe Larosa Mon, 03/22/2010 - 01:23
User Badges:
  • Super Silver, 17500 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

    Founding Member

Hello Suryakant,

by two because a first VTP update is created when you delete first vlan.

A second VTP update is built and sent when you delete the second one.


This is easy to test in a lab environment.


regular VTP updates are sent every 300 seconds but a change triggers the server to send a VTP update


no packaging capabilities as far as I have seen up to now (may be in VTP version 3 Cisco might have introduced something but not in VTP vers.1,2)


Hope to help

Giuseppe

pompeychimes Mon, 03/22/2010 - 01:44
User Badges:
  • Bronze, 100 points or more

Giuseppe,


Agreed, but I'm wondering what might happen if both summary advertisements, after each vlan deletion, go out before the first subset advertisement. I have no clue what the advertisement values are but I'm thinking that changes made so close together might be combined into one subset advertisement vs two. Also what if the vlan deletions were tftp'd in and executed simultaneously!


Definetly one for the lab.


James

Jon Marshall Mon, 03/22/2010 - 07:03
User Badges:
  • Super Blue, 32500 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

    Founding Member

  • Cisco Designated VIP,

    2017 LAN, WAN

Suraykant


As Giuseppe has said 2 if you do it in config mode. But if you use vlan database mode which is the other way of modifying your vlan database then until you actually enter "apply" or exit and apply then the modifications are not made. So in vlan database mode you could delete both vlans then apply and only one VTP update will be sent.


Jon

Actions

This Discussion