cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Frame relay in real world

Bhavesh30
Level 1
Level 1

i am new to the frame relay and want to know the concept of it in real world.

in real world lets say there is the corporate office (Corp) and 4 sales offices.

now if i have to connect this using frame relay what would be required?

i signup for frame relay service with an isp.

T1 from ISP.

i know when you get T1 they(ISP CO) run a cable that connects to a T1 circuit (in the server closet) which has a ethernet jack that i would connect to a T1 router. and from there it would goto switch and client hosts.

so what happnes with frame relay? (service provider to Corp location server closet)

how many routers would i need at the Corp office?

Does the isp provide frame relay switch? where does it sit? my location or at ISP?

how about the connections at the 4 sales offices? how do the ISP go about connecting them?

lets say isp ABC is the provider at central office in NY.

2 locations in FL & CA. 1 in London and 1 in China. how does that work? would the same ISP be able to provide this service to all locations? do i signup with different providers?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Bavesh

At your head office you would need one router only. You can use subinterfaces on the same physical port, one for each remote site. The frame-relay switch sits in the ISP network, you don't need to worry about that.

ISP will provide a single connection to each office. If they have the coverage they will provide connections at all geogrpahical sites. If they don't ie. the sites are spread across the world then frame-relay might well not be the best choice ie. you could use DSL internet connections and use site-to-site VPNs to protect the traffic.

Jon

Cisco are currently donating money to the Haiti earthquake appeal for every rating so please consider rating all helpful posts.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Ganesh Hariharan
VIP Alumni