How can I get my foot in the door?

Unanswered Question
Mar 23rd, 2010

Hi everyone,

I've been studying Cisco networking for almost 3 years, spent about ten thousand dollars on the lab, got my CCNA, CCNP and CCIP, but still can't get a JOB, not even even an entry-level network engineering job since having no experience. I have a bachelor's in business and I know that won't help anything.

So, my question is should I keep studying and pursuing CCIE or swithcing to MicroSoft or Linux.

Can anybody help? THANKS!!!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
cisco.xenpak1 Wed, 03/24/2010 - 01:16

Hi,

it seems, that you have been very disapointed since you spent all the money and the effort in your certification.

Experience has been a major factor for employers to hire.

If I were you, I still would work towards the CCIE, but also look for a entry position. I would definitly hunt for a CCNA position, even when you already got the CCNP. Then you can built the nessesary experience.

It´s like building your credit history. No credit without good history, No history without credit. Just start small and become big.

Keep your head up. It is just a matter of time till you find the right job. But keep in mind, that there is maybe a personal reloaction nessesary to get this new job.

Wish you good look.

Regards

ccnachangeme Wed, 03/24/2010 - 23:42

Hi cisco.xenpak1,

Do you think that CCIE will guarantee me an OK job? 'Cause I spent almost three years not working full-time just for study, and I'm thinking give myself less than two years for CCIE and I really don't fear the lab exam.

By the way thanks for your reply!!!

cisco.xenpak1 Thu, 03/25/2010 - 00:56

Hello ccnachangeme,

there is never a guarantee on this. But I would not study another 2 years full time for the CCIE.

I would look for a simple network admin job, then do the CCIE on the side.

When I was doing my certification I particularly enjoyed that I can try my theory on a live animal.