Views
Helpful
Replies

Which Router and expansion cards

shahriar65
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All

Please forgive my ignorance but I am new to Cisco router products and I would like you, the experts, in this field to help me in choosing the most economic router for the company.

We have an office (under construction and to be completed in 2 weeks or so) in a City with 40-45 node LAN.  The plan is to purchase 2 Panasonic TDA 200 hybrid PBXs for our telephony system (for office and factory).  Our manufacturing site is placed 25 miles away (again under construction), and these sites will be connected by 2 E1 lines: one for data and one for voice. e The E1 is more than what is required for voice (telephony), and as such we will multiplex and only use 15 channels out of 30 for voice and the rest would be used for data traffic.  We will get connected to internet (Office and Factory) via an ADSL line Modem over POT through adsl interface based in our office in the city.

There will also be requirement to provide VPN connections to our sales force in the field, engineering support team for factory machinary maintenace from Italy, and our Management Team based in UK.

I would be grateful for your kind help and advice on the Cisco router model, the expansion cards required, the security software, the SSL VPN licenses, the associate cabled with these expansion cards etc.  I know there are a lot of bundled options to choose from and as these routers are quite expensive, I do not want to invest in the wrong model and accessories.  I therefore would appreciate your help and advise on choosing the right router.

I also would like to let you know that, my priliminary investigation has lead me to believe that the Cisco 2811 or 2821 would be an appropriate candidate with the follwing cards and software.  Please advise what I would be needing (in terms of hardware and software within the Cisco router) in order to establish a secure, firewalled WAN and intranet connectivity?