cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Setting up ports for a NIC team on a 2960?

Chris Bartlett
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

Please forgive me as I'm a Cisco newbie...  Little bit of experience in the CLI over the years, but nothing hardcore...  I have a Cisco WS-C2960G-48TC-L.  At present, I have web access to its admin panel, and in a real pinch I could connect to it over CLI.  If possible, however, I'd rather stick to the admin panel or the use of the Cisco Network Assistant, which I also have installed on my workstation...

Anywho, what I'd like to do is "team" a pair of NIC cards on one of the servers I have attached to this switch.  I know how to team the NICs on the Server 2008 R2 server, but I'm told that I then need to "create a port channel on the Cisco Switch and  then put both the interfaces on the switch into that PO".

That was advice I got on another forum, but I'm not really sure what it means or how to do it on the 2960.

Can someone give me a hand, please?  I'd really appreciate it.  Thanks!

Chris

3 Replies 3

Chris Bartlett
Level 1
Level 1

*** BUMP ***

Can someone give me a hand with this, please?  Thanks!

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Chris,

the suggestion is correct

A further recommandation is to use the standard based LACP protocol to negotiate membership on the links (and to detect failure)

Configuration on the CLI can be the following:

link C2960 configuration guide

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst2960/software/release/12.2_46_se/configuration/guide/swethchl.html#wp1276347

a) you prepare member links with same configuration (including speed and duplex if applicable)

int gi0/5

switchport

swtchport mode access

switchport access vlan X

sh

nt gi0/6

switchport

swtchport mode access

switchport  access vlan X

sh

b) you associate the member links to the LACP channel

int gi0/5

channel-group N mode active

int gi0/6