Helpful
Replies

SSL sticky (persistence) options with ACE Module

RAMAN AZIZIAN
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

Quick background:

My background is more in L1-L4, and recently I have been assigned to the ACE project to provide SLB (I know what were they thinking :-) )

I am now having to really understand the handshaking mechanism the various protocols are using for successful communication (Client and Server)

Majority of my customer applications are secure web apps. Currently Foundry is used for load-balancing. Sticky is used in foundry, and it is based on session ID tracking.

I am trying to determine what options do I have for SSL Sticky configuration, so I can pass that on to the WEB app owners, in order to configure the ACE module.

I know ACE provides the following sticky methods for HTTP:
1) IP address stickiness tracks Source IP, Destination, or both IP address in the request Packets

2) HTTP header stickiness tracks the value of an HTTP hearder field in the HTTP request

3) Cookie stickiness tracks the value of the cookies in the HTTP request and response.

I created some configs using Session ID tracking using the following:

sticky layer4-payload sessid

serverfarm stage

response sticky

layer4-payload offset 43 lenght 32 begin-pattern "\x20"

\**** the following class map detects which SSL version, V3 or TLS

class-map type generic match-any SSL-v3-32

match layer4-payload regex "\x16\x03\x00..\x01.*"

match layer4-payload regex "\x16\x03\x01..\x01.*"

What other methods can SSL Stickiness be activated on the ACE?

Thanks in advance for any feedback you can provide.

Best Regards,

raman

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi Raman,

Since you already have a good feel on matching against L7-content and src-address as your sticky-parameter, I'll stick with the 'cookie-insert' feature. Personally, this is also the one I'm most experienced with.