cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Selective Call Forwarding?

Dave.Jones1
Level 1
Level 1

I am a contractor in Iraq.  we are using Cisco Unified Call Manager 4.3.  We want to use selective call forwarding on some of our phones.  there is a reference in the cisco documentation that it is supported on v.3.0 but I have been unable to find it referenced for anything later than that.  Would like to know the following:

1.  is seletive call forwarding available in 4.3?

2.  How do I find it (if it is there) ?  I have checked the menus and whatnot but haven't been able to find anything specific.

Cheers, Dave

3 Replies 3

Aaron Harrison
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

It might help if you describe what selective call forwarding is?

I'm guessing that you mean:

1) User A CallForwards to his mobile

2) User B calls user A, and is forwarded

3) User C calls user A, and is not forwarded

If so, you can choose from these three:

1) Enable 'Call Forward Override' in the CallManager service parameters - this allows the user that is the target of a Call Forward, to bypass that call forward. So in the example above, if User A CallForwarded to User B, User B could still call User A. This only works for the single target of the forward though.

2) If you have a requirement that does not change (e.g. User A has two assistants that must be able to call him, regardless of whether his phone is on CallForward all or not) then you can simulate this sort of setup by creating two lines (with the same DN, in different partitions) for User A. Make sure that the partition of the second, non-Call Forwarded line is higher in the CSS of the assistants than the normal one, and that this partition does not appear in other users' CSS at all.

The assistants call would then arrive on the second line, and normal callers would dial and reach the standard line and be diverted.