cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Subnetting from Flat Network

rumseyda1
Level 1
Level 1

I am starting down the path to subnet my network using Vlans and I am new to this setup.  Here is our current config.

We have a 6509e core.  We have a VTP domain setup on the core.  We have a 16 closets that are connected back to the core via fiber.  Everything currently is setup on Vlan1 with a class B 128.1.x.x ip address.  I have the switches connected to the core using 802.1q trunk.

I went out to one my switches (3560) and created a new Vlan, assigned my new IP address (192.168.204.0/24).  After doing this I can see the Vlan on the core.

Couple of questions,

Do I need to IP address the two interfaces that connect the core to the 3560 switch with a /30 ip address so I can route to the new ip address or what do I need to put into place to be able to make this happen?

The other question is as we are moving over to the new ip addresses there is a lot of manual config that has to be done, mainly address and setup printers.  Can I create another Vlan (that will be deleted later) so the 128.1 network will continue to function so I can have more time to move the printers?    

9 Replies 9

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Couple of questions,

Do I need to IP address the two interfaces that connect the core to the 3560 switch with a /30 ip address so I can route to the new ip address or what do I need to put into place to be able to make this happen?

The other question is as we are moving over to the new ip addresses there is a lot of manual config that has to be done, mainly address and setup printers.  Can I create another Vlan (that will be deleted later) so the 128.1 network will continue to function so I can have more time to move the printers?    

Are you routing on the 3560 switches ? If so yes you could use a L3 P2P link back to your 6500s and then advertise the subnet from the 3560 to the 6500s with a dynamic routing protocol such as EIGRP.