Views
Helpful
Replies

IP Phone 7942G does not start after factory reset

alanoarraes
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All:

I am new with this equipments and I do not have idea how to start to solve this problem.

My Cisco IP Phone 7942 does not start after factory reset.

It stopped in a Cisco splash screen with a circle with a dot inside.

Please, I would be grateful for your help.

Regards,

Alano

18 Replies 18

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Are you the system administrator ?

Hi p.bevilacqua,

yes, I am the system administrator.

Thks,

Alano

Aaron Harrison
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi

Generally this means that your one of either your DHCP/TFTP/files on TFTP has a problem.

Phones will often run whatever firmware they have if there is a problem with your TFTP setup, but when you fact reset them everything must be working.

What call processing system are you running?

Aaron

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

Hi Aaron:

I perfomed the following steps:

1) unplug the cable(poe) and turn off the equipment;

2) plug the cable in the POE Switch and press "#" and release;

3) while the line lights blinking I entry with the sequence "123456789*0#"

After the steps above the equipment start an upgrading, retrieve an IP and stop in the Splash Screen with a circle with a dot inside.

I repeat this process many times without sucess.

Thks,

Alano

Yeah, I know what you've done

What I don't know is what call processing system you are using. What you need to do to fix it will vary.

Aaron Please remember to rate helpful posts to identify useful responses, and mark 'Answered' if appropriate!

Hi Aaron,

I apologize because I did not understand very well your last question

The call processing system that I would like to use is Elastix(Asterisk).

Thks,

Alano

Hi

No problem...

Basically what's going to happen is that the phone is going to boot and download a file named term41.default.loads