cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACE: Loadbalancing active/standby model with sticky connections

bernardgan
Level 1
Level 1

I'm quite new to the ACE appliance so my apologies if the questions don't quite make sense.

We've had a requirement to put together a solution on an ACE where server A must always receive the connections. The only time that server B receives connections is when server A is down. Kind of like an primary/secondary active/standby model. Server A and B are accessable on the same url/VIP.

I'm fairly sure that the connections need to be sticky to allow session persistence.

I'm wondering what the correct way to implement this is. Would I simply add each server to it's own serverfarm and then reference each serverfarm in a seperate sticky-serverfarm and rely on the "first-match" to ensure that server A was always the "primary" or is that not how "first-match" works?

eg.

policy-map type loadbalance first-match TISM-50005-logic

class PROD-URL

sticky-serverfarm STICKYGROUPA

sticky-serverfarm STICKYGROUPB

Or alternatively should I be looking into setting up the two servers in the same server farm and using weighting on the rserver settings to get it to work how we would like?

If there are any caveats or suggestions I would really appreciate it.

2 Replies 2

ciscocsoc
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

For a situation with two servers - one primary, one secondary you don't really need stickiness but you can add it if you like. If you want stickiness then you can create two server farms - primary and secondary with one server in each. Link the two in the definition of the sticky serverfarm.

serverfarm host FARM-WebCT
  description WebCT Serverfarm
  probe Probe-WebCT
  failaction purge
  rserver apptier-a
    inservice

serverfarm host FARM-WebCT2
  description Backup WebCT Serverfarm
  probe Probe-WebCT
  failaction purge
  rserver apptier-b
    inservice

sticky ip-netmask 255.255.255.255 address source FARM-WebCT-Sticky
   replicate sticky