Views
Helpful
Replies

[OT] Latency Question

dan_track
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I'm hoping someone can point me to articles or docs/tutorials. Basically I've been doing netwokring for about four years now, although not with anything cutting edge just normal things like nat, eigrp, ospf, bgp in standard ways, I'm looking to move now but some of the roles are asking for things I don't have experience with, a often mentioned poitn is the following:

Experience of latency optimisation and the  latest advances within these technologies

I'd like some help with how I can read, learn about this. And what is possible with regards to network low latency.

Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,

Dan

3 Replies 3

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Dan,

>> Experience of  latency optimisation and the  latest advances within these technologies

This means WAN optimizers like WAAS and so on. They can be seen as special proxy that attempts to optimize TCP goodput over high latency links.

To do so they attempt to minimize the number of TCP sessions and TCP session setups phases and also can use form of compression

Also the use of TCP extended window to optimize goodput.

see

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps5680/Products_Sub_Category_Home.html

low latency is never a problem of course

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Many thanks for that.

Would it also be correct that they may be referring to the following:

1. products that will help with low latency e.g. switches, modules

2. optimisation settings on switch modules ports i.e. try to get true 1G performance from switch ports

For the above where woudl I find information on it.

I also have question do the following impact performance, if so how?

1. Serialisation - I assume this is realted to serial circuits only, am I right?

2. signalling choices?

Any help would be apprecaited.

Thanks

Dan

sean_evershed
Level 7
Level 7

Dan,