cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Exemption for Pando Networks Bittorrent activity on Cisco IPS 4255

wflai
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a network administrator at a university and we use the Cisco IPS 4255 to monitor dorm network traffic.  It has worked well for detecting dorm residents who use Bittorrent or Kazaa P2P file sharing applications, and we configured our IPS to shun the user's IP addreess upon detection.  But lately, we have been getting complaints from users that they get disconnected from the Internet (shunned) because they were watching high definition streaming video from legitimate sites such as NBC.com.   It turns out that NBC.com uses Pando Networks Media Booster to deliver their streaming TV shows in HD via Bittorrent technology:

http://www.pandonetworks.com/nbc-selects-pando-networks-to-power-tv-downloads

http://pandonetworks.com/faq

We do want to block the P2P application file sharing activity because users could transfer copyrighted music or movies files, but we don't want to block streaming video that utilizes the Pando Networks technology.  Has anyone else encountered this problem?  Anyone have any suggestions to tackle this problem?  I know I can configure exemptions on the IPS sensor policies, but not sure if it is possible to exempt just streaming HD video (Pando Networks technology that uses Bittorrent protocol).

thanks,

Wayne

4 Replies 4

Panos Kampanakis
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

One think to try is to capture traffic pattern of the Pando app and try to match on a patterns and have it being excluded  from being checked against other signatures as soon as it matches the Pando signature..

I hope it makes sense.

PK

Thanks for the suggestion, but it might be too time-consuming to look for the patterns.  Anyways, I opened a TAC case and they will check with development to see if they will release IPS signatures to detect Pando Networks Bittorrent traffic......