cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Real basic stuff.

seanmcdunn
Level 1
Level 1

While configuring an 871W via SDM I realized there is a field missing (or at least I missed it if it's there): there's no place to plug in default WAN gateway. There's a field for the static IP and two more for DNS, but nothing for gateway IP. The little Netgear router we use now,and it's Linksys predecessor, both require these three things for internet access. The router works fine for local traffic. But, without internet access this router becomes pretty much useless. Obviously, I am not a Cisco expert. What am I missing? I would love to make use of this router.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

seanmcdunn wrote:

While configuring an 871W via SDM I realized there is a field missing (or at least I missed it if it's there): there's no place to plug in default WAN gateway. There's a field for the static IP and two more for DNS, but nothing for gateway IP. The little Netgear router we use now,and it's Linksys predecessor, both require these three things for internet access. The router works fine for local traffic. But, without internet access this router becomes pretty much useless. Obviously, I am not a Cisco expert. What am I missing? I would love to make use of this router.

Ken

On a Cisco router you simply add a default route to the configuration eg.

871(config)# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0

where ISP next-hop is what you are referring to as the gateway IP.

Jon

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

seanmcdunn wrote:

Ken

On a Cisco router you simply add a default route to the configuration eg.

871(config)# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0

where ISP next-hop is what you are referring to as the gateway IP.

Jon