Views
Helpful
Replies

Backplane Speed/Switch fabric Speed

sadiqalijoher
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All Friend

I am new in this Form so kindly any one tell me what is Backplane Speed or Switch Fabric Speed in a Switch.

Thanks

6 Replies 6

francisco_1
Level 7
Level 7

depends on what switch you have.

You can get answer to your question if you look at the datasheet for your switch.

google for example "cisco catalyst 3750 datasheet"

Francisco

Dear

i just want to know what is Backplane Speed defination on any switch.

i just want to know what is Backplane Speed defination on any switch.

Hi,

Defination of Backplane bandwidth is the available bandwidth between the device's ports in the switch,internal backplanes or fabric bandwidths provide the bandwidth between ports within the same device, and can provide more or less or even the exact amount of bandwidth between the device's ports.

Hope to Help !!

Ganesh.H

Remember to rate the helpful post

I have to apologies, i sometimes respond without reading the request properly.

Backplane bandwidth is a measure of the bandwidth of the internal architecture of the switch. The term is thrown around pretty loosely to refer to anything internal to the switch that doesn't refer directly to the packet forwarding rate of the forwarding engine.

The Backplane speed depends on the type of switch. (See Cisco Datasheet for more info)

The Switch Fabric Module is what creates a dedicated connection between fabric-enabled modules and provides uninterrupted transmission of frames between these modules For example of Catalyst 6500, the switch faric is integrated in to s supervisor 720 engine and the switch fabric provides a direct connection between fabric-enabled modules provided by the Switch Fabric Module, fabric-enabled modules also have a direct connection to the 32-Gbps forwarding bus.

This URL will provide you indepth info about the C6500 switch fabric and you will have better understanding if you invest to time to read it..