Views
Helpful
Replies

Daisy chaining CE520s together.

glengardener
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I apologize if this is the wrong area to ask this question.

Background: I currently have a UC520 connected to 4 8-port CE520, with each CE520 switch on a different port. Each of these switches are in differnt locations in my office. Everything works no issues.

Problem : I recently had to move one of the switches to be in the same location as another one, however due to wiring constraint i was hoping to daisy chain the new switch off the existing switch. However everytime i plug the switch into the existing switch it errors and disables the port.

The error i am getting is

This port is disabled because an unexpected Bridge Protocol Data Unit (BPDU) is received from the connected device.

I am still a little new with regards to networking, I have tried changing the port speed, port types and using crossover cables but nothing seems to work. I have to keep resetting both devices to allow the ports to be enabled. I have also tried using the WAN port rather than the LAN port, but it seems that the moment the new switch see the network the old switch shuts the port down.

Can someone confirm whether it is possible to connect two ce520s together or whether i am doing it incorrectly.

5 Replies 5

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

When you connect the 520 to the other 520 is there another connection still up to another switch ?

Also how is the port configured that error disables ?

Perhaps a quick diagram would help.

Jon

i am sorry if i am not explaining this clearly.

yes - the ports are active.

diagram (here goes)

port 1-4 on UC520 are configured as switch , auto, auto, auto to the 4 CE520s

i removed the CE520 on port 4 and plugged it into the CE520 switch that was plugged into port 3.