Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA Question...

CiscoSlicster
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I've started working with our Cisco ASA recently but I'm very new to this system so I need some help in setting up a rule.  I have an internal user that need to be able to connect directly with website, let's say (666.666.666.666).  I want to add a route to that users PC, "route add 666.666.666.666 mask 255.255.255.255 192.168.1.3", and have that user pass-through our ASA which is 192.168.1.3.  Now on the ASA, where exactly would I create this rule, under Access rules or NAT rules?  And what would I have to put, an incoming and outgoing rule like userPC to 666.666.666.666 and 666.666.666.666 to userPC?

PS.  I am aware that 666.666.666.666 is not a valid address, I just don't want to make a mistake and put a real address.

13 Replies 13

Nicholas,

Good choice of IP ;-)

For the inside host to be able to surf the web, you require NAT/PAT.

From the CLI perspective, you add:

nat (inside) 1 x.x.x.x 255.255.255.0

global (outside) 1 y.y.y.y

Assuming that x.x.x.x is your internal network with a /24 mask and y.y.y.y is the outside IP of the ASA.

If the ASA's inside IP is the default gateway for the host, and you already have Internet access from the ASA, there's nothing else that you need to do.

Federico.

Federico

You beat me to it again !!

Since you have started posting on the forums i don't get to answer that many security questions anymore

Good to see we are both offering the same advice.

Jon

Jon,

Only when I have the time (sometimes not to often)

I still appreciate your advice on security as well as many other topics ;-)

Federico.

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

CiscoSlicster wrote:

Hello,