What to use to prepare for CCNA?

Unanswered Question
May 8th, 2010

I took my CCNA in 2000. I only missed one and scored a 958. Today, I failed my CCNA. I didn't even score in the 800's. I have over 10 years experience. I work for a major service provider in the US. I read the CCNA Exam Cram book, the Cisco Press ICDN1 and ICDN2 books, completed the Cisco Press router simulation software, took between 1200 - 1500 test questions comprised from Cisco Press, Exam Cram, Pass4sure, and Test King. I scored in the 90% on ALL of those practice tests. So, what is going on? How are people passing this? Are they just lucky at guessing whatever answer the test says it is? One thing I noticed, is that there were a lot of mistakes in all of the practice questions I took. I even e-mailed one of the companies offering to show them which ones were wrong and why (of course they never responded). At one time I had passed 3 of the 4 CCNP tests as well. So, it's not like I don't know what I'm doing or have any experience. What are people using to pass this test? I thought I had the best by reading the latest CCNA Cisco Press series, but evidentally not. So, I'd like to hear from others what they're using and what worked for them. I'm highly discouraged in the Cisco Press materials and will never recommend them to anyone going forward. Any help would be appreciated.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
adimcse2000 Sat, 05/08/2010 - 13:21

hi,i passed ccna in dec 2009.i used sybex 6th edtion written by todd lammle,ccna cbt nuggets,trainsignal ccna video and wendel ondom icnd1 and 2.it should be enough for your studies.

Kent Heide Sun, 05/09/2010 - 05:48

With 10 years of experience I would expect you to pass the CCIE written :-)

Maybe you did not read the question thouroughly enough? Maybe you had weak spots on the blueprint. I don't know. But I think it sounds kind of weird that you are failing this with the background you are coming from.