cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Using RV016 with DSL modem/wireless/router

cunnida56
Level 1
Level 1

I have a configuration question which will likely seem obvious to many readers, so please go easy on me -- I am new at this.  I have used a RV016 because it will let me have diversity and backup for routes to the internet for our small business.  Since we now rely on insurance and credit card processing that is via the Internet, I do not want to be down if the cable carrier fails, so I added DSL service.  When the DSL service arrived, the carrier provided a Motorola 3347 modem that includes router, switch, and wireless capabilities in one unit.  Rather than install a WAP, I would like to use the wireless function of the 3347.

However, users on the wireless cannot print to printers on the RV016.  Is there a way that I can make the printers visible to the wireless users?

Picture shows the problem ...

MD Network Question.jpg

Again, assume I am missing the point and GENTLY try to educate me.

Thanks very much.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

David Hornstein
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Cunnida56

If I recall the RV016 is setup in what's called  Gateway mode by default  and you will need to be in router mode.

Gateway mode basically enables Network Addresss Translation (NAT) services, so that the LAN is NATed against the WAN IP address.

You have a option under setup>advanced routing to set the RV016 to Router mode, take that option and save the settings.

In router mode NAT is disabled, but you will also have to  disable  SPI,  firewall  options and block wan requests, all these options are  found under the firewall tab.

Your next step  will be to add a static route in the motorola 3347 that points to the 192.168.2.0 network.

This static route will allow wireless clients to know the WAN1 address of the RV016, which will act as a gateway to the 192.168.2.0 network.

Good luck.. and have fun, just remember to save or apply your chages as you go. 

regards Dave