SA540 and content filtering

Unanswered Question
May 10th, 2010

Hi, this is my first post on this forum, and I am a total beginner wrt. firewalls and network security, som please bear with me if  I appear amateurish.

I have an SA540 for my home office, connected to ADSL with PPPoE. I have made very few changes from factory defaults, just to get it to work. The plan is to add features gradually as I learn.

The problem is that although I now finally can reach the internet, not all webpages display. I had quite a struggle to get any web-pages at all, as the browser timed out waiting for response. Ping'ing the web-sites worked (both ip- adresses and URL). It turned out that the default setting of Content Filtering had somethin to do with it. Content Filtering was turned off (factory default), but Enable Approved URLs list was on (but greyed out as a result of "Content Filtering" off). Turning on Content Filtering, but leaving all other filetering options off, solved the problem. Now I get most normal web-pages. However, there seems to be a problem with some java or scripted pages. Registration for cisco username was one example. Turning on blocking of Java helped, but then other pages failed.

There seems to be something completely wrong with either my setup (usually is) or the Content Filtering function of the SA540.

My setup (modifications from factory default) is:

PPPoE (ADSL modem in bridge mode), IP-address changed from default 192.168.75.1 to 10.0.0.1, DHCP server (dynamic range 10.0.0.11-10.0.0.137), two reserved IP-adresses -140 and 141, DNS proxy enabled.

No firewall rules, no VLANs, VPN or other features are used.

On the LAN are a few Mac's and network disks (Time Capsules), and wifi.

Thanks in advance for any help.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
biraja Mon, 05/10/2010 - 12:13

Hi,

Could you please post your current configuration and let me know which version of SA500 firmware you are using?