cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

[Maybe solved] Repeated prompts for username and password on HTTP(S)

Gordon Fecyk
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to IOS but I'm taking ICND 1 and ICND 2 to catch up. I've gone as far as configuring a 3560 switch from "scratch" in a test environment, and am in part one of ICND 2.

Setting this switch up for HTTP administration, I've been prompted repeatedly for my username and password both when using a browser directly and when using Cisco Network Assistant (currently 5.5). This is different from the production switches I'm working with, that will prompt me once only and let me work. At first I suspected this was because I'm trying to use SSL and an in-house certitficate authority to sign the switch's certificate, but this is happening in plain HTTP as well.  If I'm persistent enough, I eventually get the pages or configuration screens I want.

The difference between the production 3560s and my testing one, is the test one uses IOS 12.2(53), the current version.  The production ones use 12.2(25)SEE3 through 12.2(35)SE5 and probably everything in between.  I'm also experimenting with the releases that includes the web-based device manager on my test switch, but the behaviour is similar whether the image has the web-based manager or not.

10 Replies 10

Gordon Fecyk
Level 1
Level 1

In an update to this problem, I've reverted the switch I've been testing back to 12.2(35)SE5, which is what the majority of my production 3560s use. It appears to behave in the same fashion: Repeatedly asking for credentials over HTTP(S).

While my non-production switch has a local user database set up, my production switches use two ACS servers.  The relevant bits of the running config are:

aaa new-model
aaa group server tacacs+ mcbhtacacs
server 10.1.2.221
server 10.1.2.222
!
aaa group server radius mcbhradius
server 10.1.2.221 auth-port 1645 acct-port 1646