Write Erase - will I lose license info?

Unanswered Question
May 11th, 2010
User Badges:

Hi,


I have a requirement to move 2 x MDS9513 switches from one site to another and add them into an existing fabric.


The configuration will need to be erased once moved in order to re-configure IP addresses, switch name etc.


The plan is to perform a "write erase"


My question is : Will a "write erase" delete any license information held on the switch?



Regards


Rich

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Loading.
calopez2 Tue, 05/11/2010 - 06:47
User Badges:
  • Cisco Employee,

Hello,

Please be sure to have backup Licenses before doing a "write erase" on the MDS switch.


Pease see here from Obtaining and Installing Licenses:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/customer/products/ps5989/products_configuration_guide_chapter09186a0080664c67.html

Tip We recommend backing up your license files immediately after installing them and just before issuing a write erase command.


I hope this helps.


Regards,

Carlos

Actions

This Discussion

 

 

Trending Topics: Storage Networking