Views
Helpful
Replies

Setting up MDS 9120

greywolf241
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Complete newbie question I'm afraid. I have done the usual "purchased switch of ebay" and am struggling to set it up.

I think the switch has been reset to default, and it has the username: admin & password: adminpass written on top of the switch.

I wish to set up an xsan 2 storage network utilising 2 x Xserve RAIDs (all controllers in 7x750GB RAID 5) with an Xserve G5 metacontroller, connected to the xsan would also be my Mac Pro.

My first question is how do I configure the switch? And for any experts out there, what should I be setting the switch settings to.

Regards,

Ben

3 Replies 3

bfeeny
Level 1
Level 1

There is really no easy way to answer this question.

To properly setup the switch, you really should configure it for best practices with regards to administration, security, performance, etc.

I would suggest reading the Quick Configuration Guide for MDS switches or the Cisco MDS Cookbook. Both of these are probably your best bet at just plugging it all up and getting some functionality.

At the very least you will plug the XRaid and hosts into a fibre channel ports and configure it like so:

conf t

int fc1/1

switchport mode F

no shut

exit

It is likely the XRaid shows as a single drive, since that is how many RAID's work.  If its configured to appear as a JBOD (bunch of disks) then you will need to make the switchport mode FL.

after doing this you should see the hosts and disks "login" to the fabric and can see their WWN's with:

show flogi database

In order to get them to talk, you still need to zone the devices together.  If your just trying to get started quickly you could set the default to be that all devices talk to eachother.  This is not best practices, but if your just trying to mess around, you have to start somewhere:

conf t

zone default permit vsan 1

exit

Don't forget to save your configuration:

copy runn start