Call Manager and Unified Communication manager

Answered Question
May 12th, 2010

Hello everyone,

I am new here and from France.

I am a real beginning in CISCO. I am studying networking.... and studying a bit cisco at my training center.

A trainer told us to install Call Manager. Well I am finding lots of things on the net about it and as well on Unified communication manager.

I a really confused right now about it. The trainer did not give us any documentations, neither directions.

Basically, I am trying to find out what need to be done to get a working installation. Do I need a server like 2003 or 2008 and what do I need to install on it ? You see I don't really know what I should ask for.

Do I need Unified COmmunication manager as a main server ?????? and then install Call manager. This is really confusion. I.E I did install before ASTERISK and I configured the different conf files.... and everything was fine.

How does this work for CISCO and with Call Manager. What is the use of Call manager and Unified communication manager really ?

Thanks a lot.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by Jonathan Schulenberg about 6 years 7 months ago

They are the same product. CallManager (CCM) was renamed to Unified Communications Manager (UCM) starting around 4.3 and 5.0.

My initial reaction here is that you have a poor trainer. UCM is a massive product with thousands of pages of documentation and easily a dozen books covering it. Throwing this at someone without significant guidance would be totally overwhelming!

Basically, I am trying to find out what need to be done to get a working
 installation. Do I need a server like 2003 or 2008 and what do I need 
to install on it ? You see I don't really know what I should ask for.