Views
Helpful
Replies

UCS B200-M1 Setup - your advice is truly appreciated

benlau
Level 1
Level 1

hi:

I am new in UCS. Need to implement a UCS project and I have read quite a bit, but really need someone with hands-on experience to vet through the following:

BOM - 1 unit of UCS 6120XP, 1 unit of UCS 2104XP, 1 unit of UCS 5108 chassis, 2 unit of UCS B200-M1 blades, no Cisco rack mount kit, 1 unit of Cisco M81KR mezzanine card per blade., 2 units of SAS 146GB HDD per blade, 2 UCS 6120 power supplies, 2 power supplies for UCS 5108, 1

Single phase AC power module for UCS 5108
, etc.

Steps

=====

1. Install the hardware (simplify):

- slide the 2 blade into the UCS 5108 chassis,

- connect the 4 Fabric Extender cables from UCS 5108 chassis to the single UCS 6120XP

- connect the 4GB FC uplink from the UCS 6120 XP's Expansion Module to a SAN Switch in the infra

- Connect the 10GB Ethernet uplink from UCS 6120 XP's fixed module to a LAN Switch in the infra

- Power On all the hardware

2. Setup the single unit of UCS 6120 XP via the console port with the RJ-45-RS-232 adapter and a DB9 adapter and assign a public IP, connect up with a CAT 5/6 UTP cable from Management Port, M0, to a Production Switch's port for Out of Band Management.

3. Launch the UCS Manager via a browser pointing to the assigned IP at step 1.

4. Setup Chassis Discovery Policy

5. Setup the Power Policy

Question: Based on what I have for the power supplies, which policy should I choose? Non-redundant or N + 1?

6. Use UCS Manager to setup Server Port and Uplink Port

7. Configure VLAN

Question: How many vNIC will be presented by M81KR?

Question: So the VLAN id has to be a Production VLAN id, I presume? I just can not put in any fictitious VLAN id, I guess. How about native VLAN? do we have to check it for all the VLAN I am going to create, I presume no? How about Trunking? Do I have to check it for all the VLAN?