cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

spanning tree clarification

after1111
Level 1
Level 1

I had an incident where one of the staff plug in his switch and brought down the whole network. This was due to spanning tree running on my network

I want to disable spanning-tree on my network and stop users plugging the switch that could may bring down the whole network.

I've made the following changes on my switch configs:

1. Change vtp mode to 'transparent'

2. Each switch has a unique 'vtp mode'

3. All switch ports for PCs have bpdufilter enable and all switchports for uplinks ( switch to switch, switch to router, etc) have bpdu guard enable.

ALso, are there any difference between 'spanning-tree guard root' and spanning-tree bpdu filter'?

What are the best practices for configuring switchports?

Is it enough to prevent network loop? What else can I do to avoid the switching loop?

3 Replies 3

burleyman
Level 8
Level 8

I am still learning the finer details of Spanning-Tree but I do know that Disabling Spanning-Tree would not be a very good idea, and I don't think that Spanning-tree is what brought down your network. Let's go over your changes you want to make.....Can you explain what happened and what you needed to do to get your network back up and running.

1. Changing the VTP mode to transparent does nothing with Spanning-tree, it is for VLAN database  updates and creation....no effect on loops

2. Each switch having a unique name again will not do anything for loop prevention but is still a good idea.

3. All switch ports for PC's having bpdu filter will disable STP on that port and based on what happened by someone connecting a switch to a port this would not be a good idea because if that happens on a port that has bpdu filter on it can cause a loop. Switch to switch should have Root guard not bpdu guard to prevent the new switch from being the root bridge.

What should you do? well I would post a little diagram of your network and I am we can help.

Mike

Mike,